If you can’t live longer, live deeper.

Image

It’s been too long since my last post. Life has thrown several curveballs my way throughout the last few weeks so I haven’t been in much of a blogging frame of mind. In light of those recent events, despite how terrible and chaotic they seemed at the time, (which I will post about at a later time) I have come to realize that life is short. And beautiful. And unpredictable.

Because of one event in particular, I’ve spent a lot of time during the last several days just thinking. Thinking about the people I have in my life, the things I have accomplished, the dreams I want to turn into realities, the way that I affect the people around me. The most important of these thoughts and the one that I couldn’t shake was this: the way you choose to live your life is the legacy you leave behind once you’re gone. When you think about life in that context, it seems to simplify things quite a bit. Studying for college exams suddenly doesn’t seem like such a daunting task. The complaining thoughts and comments about studying for those tests seems silly and childlike. Things like being in a rush to get to class or getting annoyed when a homeless man asks you for spare change…again, insignificant. In the same sense, the small, good things in life suddenly have such a meaningful impact on you. Seeing that homeless man smile from ear to ear because he has 50 cents to ride the city bus and because you were kind enough to stop and listen to him. Paying a random compliment to the grocery store cashier and seeing her smile because you took the time to have a simple conversation with her instead of sliding your card and walking out of the door without saying much more than “thank you”.

I’ve tried to find a way to remind myself of this every day because I really do think it can change your life. The beauty of this mindset is that when you choose to slow down and really enjoy life, you start to take notice of the little things, you are more equipped to handle the bad, and you can have a positive impact on someone else’s life rather than simply living day to day for yourself.

The beautiful angel that inspired this recent change in my life will forever have a special place in my heart. I hope to honor him and his legacy of being kind to people as I go forward in my life. I hope anyone reading this can do the same. <3

2 thoughts on “If you can’t live longer, live deeper.

Comment here! :)

