Somewhere In Between

IMG_3529

Start dating someone new. Graduate college. Adopt a puppy. Watch my friends move away to their new-job locations. Grow closer to God. Pick up a laid-back babysitting job for the summer. Lose friends “due to distance”. Make new friends based solely on a common denominator: moving to Denver soon. Work toward a real estate license. Receive a hateful “love” letter from a long-ago ex in the mail…yeah, that one’s a long story. Grow further from God. Meet up with old friends. Go on a week-long “vacation” and end up buying $1,000s worth of furniture for my new Denver apartment (ouch to my I-haven’t-started-my-big-girl-job budget). Meet someone from New Zealand and reflect on the most beautiful trip I’ve ever taken in my life – see pic above. :) Reconnect with good friends. Pack my life up into boxes. Take time to reflect. Grow closer to God.

The last few months have been full of…well…^^ that. And many other little things not mentioned. In today’s modern society, I think a lot of us tend to rush through life without taking the opportunity to sit back and reflect. Reflect on our relationships with others, our accomplishments and our failures, and how we’ve grown and changed as people from the things we have gone through. We spend too much time stressing out about whatever situation we’re currently facing. Too much time planning for whatever future event is coming up next. Too much time focusing on the problems we run into instead of just focusing on the present.

I can’t say that this summer has been good or bad overall (thus far), but I can say that I’ve learned a hell of a lot about myself in the past few months. I’ve learned to love deeper than I ever have before – that includes myself, my friends, my family, and even strangers (thanks to an angel that’s been watching over me since April and has forever changed my outlook on life). I’ve learned to take other people’s hateful or insulting words with a grain of salt. That one’s a big one for most people, I think, whether or not we’re all willing to admit it. And I’ve learned that this beautiful little life we live here on earth is much too short to take for granted. Time to stop and smell the roses, just as the saying goes.

Have a good weekend, everyone! Take time to be in the “now” and spend time with those you love! 

One thought on “Somewhere In Between

Comment here! :)

